Are the bonds of friendship as strong now as it was 10years back?

Last week, I took my mom to visit her school time best friend. As I stood back and watched her face glow up in happiness and embrace her friend, my mind pondered over whether the value of friendship has changed over the passage of time.

My mom was meeting her friend after a gap of 10 years and the excitement because of that was palpable. The entire day they were like kids allowed to play at the ground all day, jovial and carefree and full of laughs.

Seeing her kind of made me envious. Will I be as ecstatic as her when I meet my friends after 10 years of no contact? Sure I would be happy and we would probably have a fun day, but it wont be the same. But the condition might have been different if I’m meeting someone after 10 years, but were always in constant touch right?

That’s when I realized that in our age, our level of friendship is measured by whether we are in frequent touch with each other or not. But years back, that was not the case. Once you’ve best friends, you’re best friends for life. Whether you catch up or not does not matter.

In this era of whatsapp and messenger, we are always abreast with the happenings of our close friends. Everyone is just a text away and all news is just an fb post away. But would I give up that at any cost? I don’t think so.

So what is your opinion? You think that technology has changed friendship over time or is it still the same?

5 responses to “Are the bonds of friendship as strong now as it was 10years back?”

  1. happynotsogolucky Avatar
    happynotsogolucky

    Hi there,
    I often think about friendship and what defines a great friend. I think social media has affected friendships by convincing people that their friendships are defined based on their social media interactions. It has also created more negative relationships for me, as users mistake an unfollow or lack of like for hate. I have had battles created out of thin air based on me unfollowing someone. I wish I could say to these people, “Unfollowing you does not mean I hate you, I just may disagree with your posts or find them annoying”. Rather than getting angry every time I see a post I don’t like, I simply press unfollow to prevent those negative feelings.
    I also wrote a blog about friendship, please feel free to take a look and provide your insight 🙂 happynotsogolucky.com/2017/11/29/better-your-associations/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. “unfollowing you does not mean i hate you ”
      Soo true! Wish everyone just realized that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think there are both positives and negatives to social media in relation to friendships. On one hand it helps us stay in touch, but on the other hand I think it means we have to make less effort
    Great post! X

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good point. We are in constant touch, but I feel like our relationships are flatter. We make less of an effort to actually relate to others and just BE with them, because we feel like we do our duty by liking their Instagram photo or sharing their Facebook status.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soo true! The mark of friendship has become our online presence with them.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.